Customer Reviews for Birkenstock Birkenstock Gizeh Flat Sandal

Birkenstock Birkenstock Gizeh Flat Sandal

Birkenstock Gizeh Flat Sandal
Average Customer Rating:
4.615 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
37 of 3995%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Birkenstock Gizeh Flat Sandal
Review 1 for Birkenstock Gizeh Flat Sandal
Overall Product Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Runs Long
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Slightly Wide
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Average
Very Comfy
By: Mary55
Location: Longmeadow
 May 20, 2015

Love these shoes.

" Great shoes, very comfortable however they run a size larger than I would normally wear. Very cute with jeans or a skirt! "
Review 2 for Birkenstock Gizeh Flat Sandal
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Perfect
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Perfect
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Very Comfy
Very Comfy
By: PNWsavvyshopper24
Location: Kirkland
 May 18, 2015

Happy for a comfy All Summer Sandal!

" I have been a skeptic for sometime that comfort and style can go hand in hand, especially for a sandal! Sometimes comfort means not so cute! But after recommendation from friends who own Birkenstocks, I gave in and purchased the Gizeh. I was told it takes some time to break them in, to have them mold perfectly to your feet. This is a true statement, they seem very stiff at first, but I broke them in, wearing them constantly over a weekend. While over more time they will soften and conform, they are already feeling wonderful and supportive! I have bunions and wide fleet with flat arches. Quite the perfect storm, and even after long walks in these shoes, I am not aching like I would in a stylish flat, unsupported sandal. This is my new go anywhere and adventure sandal! Wonderful purchase and I encourage people to try them!
*a note about size, I am usually a 8.5-9 but they didn't offer 8.5 in the store. When I tried on an 8, it fit find standing but walking, my toes banged against the end of the shoe. The 9 was the better choice. Also read the little paper booklet attached the shoe and it shows you how to find perfect fit with regards to your toe. And definitely walk around in them to see what feels right to you! "
Review 3 for Birkenstock Gizeh Flat Sandal
Overall Product Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Runs Long
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Slightly Wide
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Very Comfy
Very Comfy
By: SeattleRain
Location: Seattle, WA
 May 15, 2015

Sandaless in Seattle...

" I've been wanting a durable sandal that would last me a long time for quite a while. I thought these fit the bill. I am a size 5.5 so I ordered the 5. They were huge on me. They fit like a 6.5 or 7 would. How can their sizing be so off? Despite their large size I could tell that they were amazingly comfortable and am so sad that they didn't fit. I sought out a smaller size on a different shoe site and bought the size 4 or 35 in European size that Birkenstock likes to use and that was big on me too. Madness! "
Review 4 for Birkenstock Gizeh Flat Sandal
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Not Comfy
Very Comfy
Very Comfy
By: Shaye716
Location: Denver, CO
 May 11, 2015

Perfect Summer Sandal

" When I was a child my aunt used to wear Birkenstocks and I thought they were so ugly. Now I just ordered my first pair! And I absolutely love them. I've only walked around the house in them but I really love them. I get tired of buying cheap sandals that barely last through the summer. "
Review 5 for Birkenstock Gizeh Flat Sandal
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Perfect
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Perfect
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Very Comfy
Very Comfy
By: Iheartms
Location: Arlington TX
 May 10, 2015

Best Sandal Ever

" I bought this shoe in brown. I'm a 7.5 in all shoes so I went with the 7. They fit great! They are very comfortable and I get tons of compliments when I wear them out. Very cute with Capris/Jeans or shorts. "
Review 6 for Birkenstock Gizeh Flat Sandal
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Perfect
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Perfect
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Very Comfy
Very Comfy
By: Malita
Location: Weehawken, NJ
 May 6, 2015

The best sandals for walking

" I love these sandals. This is the second time I buy this exact pair, the previous one lasted for 3 summers. I wear these every time I know I'm gonna be walking around. A few years ago I had a problem with the sole of my right foot and since then, I make sure my feet aren't too flat and avoid that injury again. These sandals keep me comfortable and safe from injuries. On top of that, the design is cute and the materials are very good quality. "
Review 7 for Birkenstock Gizeh Flat Sandal
Overall Product Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Perfect
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Perfect
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Average
Very Comfy
By: a2rutherford
Location: California
 May 1, 2015

hmmm...

" I really like the look of this sandal...just not on my feet. I should've just gotten over it, because they seem very sturdy and supportive. I have super flat feet though, so I was worried that the arch support might cause them to cramp up... I returned them, and that very day I met up with my best friend who had just purchased a pair. Oh well, I will keep looking. "
Review 8 for Birkenstock Gizeh Flat Sandal
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Slightly Long
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Slightly Wide
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Very Comfy
Very Comfy
By: gentleonmytoes
Location: CA
 February 20, 2015
" I own 4 pair, so many colors to choose from! No matter what outfit I'm wearing I have the shoes to complete it. SO COMFY. "
Review 9 for Birkenstock Gizeh Flat Sandal
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Perfect
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Very Comfy
Very Comfy
By: newteacher
Location: Wyoming
 December 7, 2014

Favorite shoes

" I've had these sandals for about 5 years and they are still my go-to because they are the most comfortable shoes I own. They have great support and have held up extremely well after this long. I highly recommend these! "
Review 10 for Birkenstock Gizeh Flat Sandal
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Perfect
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Slightly Wide
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Very Comfy
Very Comfy
By: klnn
Location: New York
 November 28, 2014

Birkenstocks

" Love these sandals! I have wider feet and generally have trouble finding shoes that fit nicely, but these are a perfect fit! Although I haven't worn them much yet, they're very comfortable and seem to be pretty durable. "
Review 11 for Birkenstock Gizeh Flat Sandal
Overall Product Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Perfect
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Perfect
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Very Comfy
Very Comfy
By: Nickipie
Location: Brooklyn
 August 27, 2014

Walk a lot

" In Brooklyn you tend to walk a lot and coming from a state where all I did was drive this transition killed my feet. I needed more comfortable shoes. These are it.
I did read some reviews prior and ordered a half size larger than I needed. They are great so far.
I gave it four stars because even though they are comfortable I don't think they are very fashionable lol. "
Review 12 for Birkenstock Gizeh Flat Sandal
Overall Product Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Slightly Long
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Perfect
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
More Comfy
Very Comfy
By: MemeV2
Location: Oklahoma
 August 9, 2014
" I suffer from plantar fasciitis and have been on the hunt for a casual but supportive sandal that doesn't look orthopedic. After much contemplation and reading about 300 reviews, I ordered these. My concerns were the fit and the toe piece, as those seemed to be the most common complaints.
I wear a 7.5 in most shoes, sometimes an 8. I ordered the 7 from the website, which turned out to be a 38. They were a little big but if I had sized down they would have been too small. So I kept the 38, which has turned out fine. The piece between the toes is uncomfortable at first. I did not experience any blistering and after wearing the shoes for a few days, I grew accustomed to it. They do take time to break in. I have had them for about 2 weeks now and the toe still bothers me occasionally. However, the foot bed support is excellent. I typically cannot wear flat shoes for an extended period of time due to my plantar fasciitis, but the arch support in these is so great, I can wear them for hours with no pain.
Overall, I would say they do take time to break in, the toe piece will bother you and they do run slightly large. But if you can find the correct size and stick it out through the breaking in, they are comfortable, supportive, versatile and even a little chic. "
Review 13 for Birkenstock Gizeh Flat Sandal
Overall Product Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Runs Long
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Slightly Wide
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
More Comfy
Very Comfy
By: NYGiants16
Location: Ontario, Canada
 August 6, 2014
" I purchased these according to my regular size, but they were way too big. I had to go back to return them. :( "
Review 14 for Birkenstock Gizeh Flat Sandal
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Slightly Long
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Perfect
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
More Comfy
Very Comfy
By: knfahrenwald
Location: Boise, ID
 June 17, 2014

Awesome Shoes!

" I am an 8.5/9 and ordered a 39 like the chart said. I had to exchange them at my local DSW because they were too big and got a 38 instead. I love these shoes. Everyone said they took a long time to break in and that the toe bar hurt. I didn't experience any of these issues. "
Review 15 for Birkenstock Gizeh Flat Sandal
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Perfect
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Slightly Wide
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Very Comfy
Very Comfy
By: maeve14
Location: boston
 June 16, 2014

Great shoe

" Was afraid this would look too orthopedic but they don't and I walked over 10 miles in them yesterday with no problems. "
Review 16 for Birkenstock Gizeh Flat Sandal
Overall Product Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Slightly Short
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Average
Very Comfy
By: MMeyer
Location: Chicago, IL
 June 15, 2014
" Tough to break in. "
Review 17 for Birkenstock Gizeh Flat Sandal
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Slightly Long
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Perfect
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Very Comfy
Very Comfy
By: YoungHarvard
Location: West Seattle, WA
 June 12, 2014

Gotta love Birkenstocks

" Love my new Birks! Had to find some new shoes for summer that were comfortable but were slightly more dressy than Keens or Tevas. These Birks certainly fit the bill and I am very happy, I just wish I had looked for them earlier because they were already sold out of my size at every store in my area! "
Review 18 for Birkenstock Gizeh Flat Sandal
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Perfect
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Perfect
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Very Comfy
Very Comfy
By: Udella
Location: VA
 May 4, 2014

Nice take on a thong sandal

" Birkenstocks always fit the same once you know your size. I am a slightly wide-ish 9 and the European 40 fits perfects every time. The Gizeh is a cute thong sandal... better than the usual 'jesus-sandal' Birkenstock sells, very minimalistic in style but your foot stays in place on the footbed. The black is nice and crisp without being shiny. If you haven't worn Birkenstocks before the support of the footbed is different, although nice and will take a few days to get used to. I would't recommend wearing it all day the first time if you haven't owned Birkenstocks before - just a couple hours to begin.
I live in Birkenstocks so wore them out and about all day first off! "
Review 19 for Birkenstock Gizeh Flat Sandal
Overall Product Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Runs Long
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Average
Very Comfy
By: alwaysistomorrow
Location: Washington DC
 April 25, 2014

Birkenstocks

" Sandals run very large and wide- if this is definitely the style you're looking for then you should order a full size smaller "
Review 20 for Birkenstock Gizeh Flat Sandal
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Perfect
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Perfect
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Very Comfy
Very Comfy
By: Shanyork7
Location: Houston, TX
 April 24, 2014

Classic

" Birkenstocks are always a win. Wore them for the first time today and received compliments. Comfy and stylish. "