Customer Reviews for Restricted Restricted Gallop Riding Boot

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at DSW.

Restricted Restricted Gallop Riding Boot

Restricted Gallop Riding Boot
Average Customer Rating:
3.865 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(89 Reviews) 88
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (89 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
25
3 stars
10
2 stars
8
1 star
8
67 of 8975%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Restricted Gallop Riding Boot
Review 1 for Restricted Gallop Riding Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
By: LucidSplash
Location: Tennessee
 November 24, 2011

Love these!

" I was looking for something to fit the current riding boot fad without breaking my budget. So far, these have been a great choice! I've received compliments ever time I've worn them (from men AND women), the are super comfortable, and the black/brown combo means they go with almost everything I own.
I think the quality is adequate for what I paid - I'm not really expecting them to last for 5 years but I think they will hold up for the next couple if I take care of them.
I'm 5'3 and around 140 lbs right now (ouch scale) but have always had pretty good calves. These fit comfortably and I don't find them tight at all. I am amble to fit my bootleg jeans inside them, thought they do bunch up against my calf a bit and based on the design there's really no way to ensure the pants stay at the bottom of the boot. But its not uncomfortable and otherwise they fit well.
Overall a good purchase. I'd definitely buy them over again! "
Review 2 for Restricted Gallop Riding Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Slightly Long
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Less Comfy
Very Comfy
By: bonbonjambon
Location: DC Metro Area
 December 27, 2011

Disappointing ...

" Before these boots arrived in the mail, I was hoping for the best ... unfortunately, when they arrived, I was VERY disappointed. First, the boots arrived folded into a square box - which for boots was my first indication that something was wrong ... Secondly, while the boots do run about a half size longer like many of the reviews describe (ie, I ordered an 8 when I'm usually an 8.5), the shaft of the boot has no support so it's VERY flimsy and VERY baggy; it doesn't look as slender or stiff as it appears in the photos. Ladies with thin calves - beware. And third, the texture and "look" of the boot just filled me with regret - they looked, smelled, and felt cheap. I was excited to see how the stirrup looked, which was very unique, but the boot was just SO cheap looking.
These boots made their way back to the store and were exchanged for a beautiful pair of real leather boots that were on sale! "
Review 3 for Restricted Gallop Riding Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Slightly Long
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Slightly Wide
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Less Comfy
Very Comfy
By: mackela
Location: New Jersey
 January 9, 2012
" I was hoping for the best when I ordered these and after I saw the reviews I saw that some people really liked these boots, while others found them to look cheap. I'm on the fence. I just opened them up and they do look a bit cheap... they're kind of shiny. Sometimes you can get pleather boots that kind of resemble leather, these don't resemble leather in the least bit. For the price, I knew I wasn't getting Vince Camutos or anything, but I was hoping for a slightly better quality for the price. If I paid full price ($80), I would have been appalled. Overall, these are okay. They're not amazing and they're not HORRIBLE. I would recommend getting a half a size down. And if you want real looking riding boots, I'd recommend getting a different pair of boots. "
Review 4 for Restricted Gallop Riding Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Runs Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Runs Wide
By: DallasPrepster
Location: Dallas, TX
 January 6, 2012

BEWARE: Price = Quality

" I purchased these boots online because I needed a black pair of riding boots. I thought the design was unique and I especially liked the brown/black combo. I was a little hesistant to purchase these because they were so cheap, but I did anyway. I should have trusted my gut! The quality and craftsmanship are really poor, and without any zippers, they were actually really hard to pull over my narrow foot! I knew they were synthetic when i bought them, and I have some faux leather boots, but these were like Wal-Mart grade! Especially the "stirrup" part which just looks plain cheesy in real life. Sadly, I will be returning these for sure, and from now on vow only to buy real leather. "
Review 5 for Restricted Gallop Riding Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Slightly Long
Runs Long
By: bootsFTW
Location: Irvine
 October 15, 2011

First Pair of Riding Boots!

" These were my first pair of riding boots and I was really really excited to see them!
First- I underestimated how high up it was, but I like it (and I'm a riding boot amateur). They run a bit long; I'm a 7.5 and ordered a 7.5 and they're a little loose. I'm not going to bother returning them since I'll be wearing thick socks inside anyways. My legs are on the thinner side, so I would have preferred a tighter circumference, but they don't look so loose as to be odd fitting.
Be warned- the color is not exactly what it looks to be in the picture!!! I ordered the "brown" and it's definitely more gray in person- flattering nonetheless! "
Review 6 for Restricted Gallop Riding Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Perfect
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Runs Wide
By: Kyorke
Location: Boston & Los Angeles
 February 22, 2012

Stylish Riding Boot!

" Not only are these my favorite boots, but I bought myself a pair 2 years ago in black, and receive a compliment EVERY time I wear them! They totally look more expensive than they are and go with any outfit I match with them, whether it's a dress, some tights or jeans. I recently bought them as a bday present for my sister in taupe last month....same deal, she loves them! And she gets compliments all the time too. They run narrow (which works for me) and are true to size, however those of you in cold climates should note the material is thin so your toes could get cold if you decide to walk in snow. Otherwise they are a steal!!!! "
Review 7 for Restricted Gallop Riding Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Slightly Long
Runs Long
Not Comfy
More Comfy
Very Comfy
By: cwhite44
Location: Knoxville, TN
 November 6, 2011

great buy!

" I love these boots! After reading the reviews, I was worried they would look cheap. I bought the black and brown pair, and they don't look cheap at all. I have athletic calves, and these fit well. They look really cute and chic with pants or dresses. I was very excited about them. The only problem was that one of the finger straps broke the first time I put them on. I didn't send them back because they took so long to get in, and I didn't want to wait for another pair. It isn't noticeable, just don't pull on them! They are hard to get on the first time, but after you wear them they are much easier to get into. "
Review 8 for Restricted Gallop Riding Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Not Comfy
More Comfy
Very Comfy
By: CandaceA
Location: Goodlettsville
 November 18, 2011

Loved them!

" After reading the reviews, I was somewhat unsure but decided to go ahead and order them. I LOVED THEM! Mine are very comfortable. I noticed some people found them hard to get on. I have a metal plate and pins in my right ankle (making it somewhat "chunky") and I had no difficulty getting them on. That was my major concern when ordering. I wore them all day and they were very comfortable. I normally live in sneakers and flip flops, so that's saying a lot. I am seriously considering ordering them in different colors. Have received many compliments on them already. "
Review 9 for Restricted Gallop Riding Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Not Comfy
Average
Very Comfy
By: MsGigi
Location: Moorhead, MN/Atlanta, GA
 January 2, 2012

Perfect Pull-on

Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" This boot is excellent in so many ways. It has a perfect shape and style that pairs well with both dresses and jeans, it fits perfectly straight out of the box with no break in time (I'm a size 6 narrow), and it is sturdy and durable; they have stood up to walking around in slush fairly well, but the soles do get cold since they are not lined. Over all, these boots are everything I want and more. Be aware, though, these boots are pull-ons with no zipper and have very little give in the calf since the material is not stretchy. "
Review 10 for Restricted Gallop Riding Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Runs Narrow
Slightly Wide
Runs Wide
By: KatieMT
Location: Columbia, SC
 January 10, 2012

Best boots I've ever bought

" I have slightly larger calves and after looking at the other views, I decided to gamble and order these in tan.
I am so glad I did. These boots are incredible. I tried them on as soon as I got them and they fit beautifully. The boots look great on, fit over my jeans, and look adorable with my dresses. They're very comfortable and I can't wait to wear them.
The only catch is I would not recommend them to girls with skinnier calves.
But great boots and thanks DSW for the free shipping.
"
Review 11 for Restricted Gallop Riding Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Perfect
Runs Long
Not Comfy
Very Comfy
Very Comfy
By: linmac
Location: North Carolina
 October 7, 2011

Amazing Boots!

" I have been looking for the perfect riding boots for months, and now I have finally found them!! They are really comfy. However, the only downside is that they are a little hard to get on because they don't zip up. But once you get them on they are really comfortable and fit really well. I purchased the black ones, and I love them because they have brown detailing on them, so you can wear them with anything. I would definitely reccomend these boots to a friend! "
Review 12 for Restricted Gallop Riding Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Perfect
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Average
Very Comfy
By: LP711
Location: Michigan
 December 12, 2011

The Black/Brown Combo is ACE!!!

" After seeing a lot of riding boots out this season, I wanted something versatile but still unique. These boots were exactly what I wanted! I got the black/brown and was SO HAPPY when I saw them in person when they arrived! For not being real leather, the color combo and the finish on the boot make it look much more expensive, not cheap at all! I usually wear an 8.5, but I ordered an 8 after reading about how long these run, and they are a perfect fit! "
Review 13 for Restricted Gallop Riding Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Slightly Long
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Not Comfy
Very Comfy
By: CandyPooh
Location: New York
 November 11, 2011

Dont buy these boots

" Unfortunately I did not recognize how cheap these boots look until I was already wearing them on the street. So I understand that it is not real leather but I have another pair of boots that aren't real leather and these do not hold a candle to it. They sag and the material is beyond cheap. I am not sure if it is because I got the black/brown that it doesn't show well but do not waste your money. DSW should not carry this shoe. "
Review 14 for Restricted Gallop Riding Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Slightly Short
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Very Comfy
Very Comfy
By: MissMadalynRose
Location: Georgia
 October 20, 2011

Step into Fall in Style!

Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I love my Restricted Gallop Riding boots! The best part about them is that they are fashionable, but comfortable as well. When I first got them, they were a bit snug on my feet, but after wearing them once or twice they wore in and fit my feet perfectly. You can wear these boots with jeans or with a cute fall dress. I would definitely reccommend these to anyone who is looking for riding boots this Fall! "
Review 15 for Restricted Gallop Riding Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Runs Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
More Comfy
Very Comfy
By: WorkingMom77
Location: NJ
 January 11, 2012

Nice flat riding boot

" I'm very pleased with these boots. The color is great- well represented online. The foot part runs a little narrow, which is great for me since I have a long bony foot. The leather is on the thinner side, but they are very comfortable. Not meant for snow-wearing. It is NOT tight around the calf, so should fit most. I'm about 5"8 and the shaft reaches just below my knee. I'm really enjoying these boots! "
Review 16 for Restricted Gallop Riding Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Not Comfy
More Comfy
Very Comfy
By: Kendall13
Location: Chesapeake, VA
 December 5, 2011

Love these boots!!

" I got the black riding boots and I love them!! They do not look cheap and they are very comfortable! They go with any outfit! I was a little scared when I first ordered them because of all the reviews but I am so happy I went ahead and ordered them! I usually wear between an 6.5 to 7. I ordered a 6.5 and I am so happy I did. They are still a little loose but great with thick socks! "
Review 17 for Restricted Gallop Riding Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Perfect
Runs Long
By: loveofmylife
Location: Maryland
 December 4, 2011

Amazing ... Love these boots ... Eye catchers

" These boots do catch some attention. So many compliments. They do run a bit long. I normally buy my boots a half size up but with these I could have gone with my usual size. But I love them so much that exchanging would have delayed my gratification :) Thick socks will solve the issue. I would recommend these to anyone looking for a great pair of riding boots at a great price. "
Review 18 for Restricted Gallop Riding Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Slightly Short
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Very Comfy
Very Comfy
By: steph1357
Location: New York
 November 16, 2011

Love these boots!

" I really like these boots, they are comfortable and fit really well. I have gotten a ton of compliments on them. I thought the strap on the bottom looked a little weird in pictures when I bought them online, but it looks great in person. I normally wear a 10, but got these in a 9.5 and they are a roomy enough to fit big socks too- so probably run a little bigger than average. "
Review 19 for Restricted Gallop Riding Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Slightly Short
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
More Comfy
Very Comfy
By: iLuvshoes629
Location: Atlanta, GA
 February 4, 2011

Finally A pair of boots to fit my leg

" I was a bit scared to order these boots because I was certain there was no boot on earth that would fit over my thick legs.....but i was wrong.They were a little tight when I first tried them on but after just a little bit of wearing them around the house, they stretched enough for them to fit perfectly. I can even wear them over jeans. I love them and they are super cute!!! "
Review 20 for Restricted Gallop Riding Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Slightly Long
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Runs Wide
By: Trixter
Location: North Carolina
 December 17, 2011

Too Big

" I always wear a 9M. When I received this boot, I was both surprised and disappointed that it was too big. In addition, the boot looks better and of better quality online. I returned it to my local DSW because I didn't want to have to pay for shipping. The only problem is that I used $30.00 worth of certificates that I basically lost (due to returning the boot). "