Customer Reviews for Bare Traps Bare Traps Emilse Boot

Bare Traps Bare Traps Emilse Boot

Bare Traps Emilse Boot
Average Customer Rating:
4.655 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(487 Reviews) 468
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (487 reviews)
5 stars
354
4 stars
111
3 stars
12
2 stars
7
1 star
3
469 of 48796%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bare Traps Emilse Boot
Review 1 for Bare Traps Emilse Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Runs Long
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Very Comfy
Very Comfy
By: pinkserendipity
Location: Porter Ranch, CA
 November 24, 2011

The best winter boots!!

"O-M-G!! I could not believe how luscious these felt on my feet when I slipped these boots on. I was surprised to find the entire inside of the shoe is lined with faux fur. It really helps to keep in heat and warm up my toes which always seem to get cold. Additionally, they feel super soft. The quality of these boots are amazing. Every seam and stitch is done correctly with no sloppy sewing work or threads hanging out of the seam. The grip on these babies are fantastic. Definitely won't be slipping on ice/snow with these on. These boots hit just around my calves and are not tight or lose at all. Just perfect, especially with the fur trim at the top. It also keeps the heat in as it doesn't let the chilly wind pass through. I am glad I ordered these in wide width. My feet aren't truly wide, but they aren't a true regular width either. They fall somewhere in between. The wide width allows my feet to comfortably walk especially with thick socks, if I decide to wear them. My only gripe is that it is quite long. The toe section literally extends all the way to the front edge of the boot. I wear 7.5 in boots and sneakers. I ordered a 7 based on people's reviews. But I could definitely wear a 6.5 comfortably. Besides this, these boots are a dream come true! Ladies, get them before they're gone! I'm thinking of ordering another pair in a different color. Btw, I got the grey and the grey suede is true to the picture. Though, the fur is greyish/brownish, like someone mentioned in another review."
Review 2 for Bare Traps Emilse Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Slightly Short
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Very Comfy
Very Comfy
By: jordie273283
Location: Baltimore
 January 14, 2013

Best. Boots. Ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

"I have many criteria when selecting boots, and these cover them all. They had great reviews so i got them and they live up to everything they promise. They are so cute, they feel very well made, they have nice suede, super super comfy, like comfy enough to walk around a new york showroom for 6 hours and feeling like my feet didnt even exist. i guess they are cut a little small because i am ususally not a 9.5 in shoes, i am more a 9, but i accounted for heavy socks and the fully lined furry inside, and the 9.5Wide fit like a glove. on top of being cute and stylish and can be worn with everything from jeans to a casual dress, they are WATERPROOF, which, if anyone has endured a rainy day with non waterproof boots, you know that is invaluble. the sole is a nice heavy rubber, has great traction, which is great because it gets icy and snowy here. just protect the suede with spray when you do go out in wet weather, we dont want any spots! i love these boots so much i am exchanging the other boots i got for two more pair of these so i can have each color. these are boots i see myself wearing for many many years, and, on top of aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaallllllllll that, the price is phenominal for a pair of boots that are waterproof, WARM, real suede, great foot support, and extremely cute. Bare traps makes a great product, DSW is a great retailer, and i will be a return customer."
Review 3 for Bare Traps Emilse Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Runs Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Less Comfy
Very Comfy
By: requiredtohaveanickname
Location: Ohio
 December 6, 2011
"I have wide feet and I'm a bigger girl, so I have bigger calves. I was excited when I saw these because I have been unable to find nice-looking winter boots in wide sizes, and the reviews were promising, so I purchased these.
First, the positives. They're nice and warm, and seem to stand up well to snow and rain while I'm walking around campus. They also don't overheat my feet while I'm sitting in a warm lecture hall. And they're definitely cute!
Now, the negatives. My right foot is a little bit wider than my left foot, so the boot doesn't fit comfortably on my right foot--my toes are a bit crowded. Also, I have no idea why, but my right ankle rubs against the inside of the boot regardless of the pants/socks I'm wearing and often starts bleeding. (I have that problem with a lot of shoes, but normally flats--this is the first pair of boots I've ever had that gave me this problem.) Finally, even though I only wear boots with skinny jeans, I have a hard time zipping these all the way up. I can still zip them enough to wear them, but it's not easy to get them zipped all the way.
I ordered a size 7 and I would exchange them for a size 8, but I sent them to my home address and not my dorm and didn't get to try them on until after the exchange period. They're not bad, though. I'm just a little disappointed."
Review 4 for Bare Traps Emilse Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Not Comfy
More Comfy
Very Comfy
By: navnightingale
Location: US Military Europe
 December 13, 2012

FABULOUS!

"My location makes it difficult to find comfortable shoes that are my size (9.5-10) so I went to an old faithful brand. I have a pair of Bare Traps boots that have lasted me years so I ordered the same size (a little smaller than I normally have to buy - I wear 9.5 in this brand but sometimes have to buy a 10 with other brands like Steve Madden). Let me say, Bare Traps hasn't failed me yet!
I bought these boots in gray for my winter travels. I needed a versatile boot that was trendy, could be dressed up, but would hold up to wet, cold weather and LOTS of walking. The color is beautiful and pretty true to what you see here - maybe a tad darker. They go well with just about anything and can be dressed up or down. These were my go-to boots for a 2 week trip to France, Nov-Dec time frame. I LOVE how they look trendy enough for blending in around Paris but could hold up to more rugged terrain as well. These boots are amazingly comfortable and WARM! They held up to hours of walking, uneven terrain, cobblestones, LOTS of rain (even the beaches of Normandy) - the whole time my feet stayed toasty, dry and not a single sore or blister!
I couldn't be happier with this purchase and would buy them again in a heartbeat - in fact, I may get another color!"
Review 5 for Bare Traps Emilse Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Perfect
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Perfect
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Very Comfy
Very Comfy
By: Mlzbth8
Location: Central NJ
 June 2, 2013

THE MOST AMAZING WINTER BOOTS...EVER

"I cannot stress enough how beautiful, comfortable, and sturdy these boots are. I bought them over a year ago in grey and they fought the good fight against Mother Nature's incredibly harsh winter (rain, snow, sleet, mud, etc.). They kept me warm and dry in the snow/rain. I'm clumsy and they had great traction on ice. They are the perfect height and fit on my calves (becuase they're made stretchy for those of us with muscular legs) and wide for my wide feet! I find them to be cute/ versatile with many adorable outfits, not just boring winter garb. They are also easy to clean but repellent of most dirts and debris. The boots are also soft on the inside- like baby soft- but the outer parts are hard without being uncomfortably, stiff around the ankles. They are only receiving 4 stars for me because the soles were worn after a year and a half's worth of use- a big ol' hole appeared in my heel one rainy afternoon. I bought a second pair in black and am considering buying a 3rd. Especially because they are out of season now and ON SALE!!!"
Review 6 for Bare Traps Emilse Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Runs Narrow
Perfect
Runs Wide
By: Eridun
Location: Beltsville, MD
 January 27, 2013

Not what I expected

"I read the reviews on these boots and bought them online. They arrived quickly and were in perfect condition when I got them. I've had them for two months now and worn them about 10 times.
In that time the leather on the outside of the left boot has started to let go, not the seam but the actual leather is falling apart. The fabric around the heel inside both boots is coming apart and the mesh webbing under that is letting go at the seam. These boots are not big on me, nor are they too small- the fit is very comfy and I have a wide foot but these are just right on me. They are VERY warm and just wearing them inside I have gotten overheated. I would love to wear them in the snow as the tread is very hefty but given there is a hole in he side of the left boot not I'm not so in a rush to do that.
Over all I am dissatisfied with the quality of these boots and would not recommend them."
Review 7 for Bare Traps Emilse Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Perfect
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Perfect
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Very Comfy
Very Comfy
By: findingmoxie
Location: London
 February 14, 2012

Warm, comfy and cute? Winter just got brighter!

"I bought these shoes for a trip to Vienna (where the cold seeps into your feet from the icy pavement and works it way up) and I wasn't disappointed. I usually get a size 7.5 because my feet are wide for the average 7. However, these boots do run big and even in a 7, I still need to wear thick socks (as opposed to just tights). The lining is so very warm, it's got great tread and honestly, walking all over Vienna, it felt like I was walking on air they're so cushioned. By far the most comfortable of all my boots. They've proven a life saver in London as well, it being an endless winter this year. The colour is probably my only gripe. I've made my peace with it now, but I do wish it was more of a true grey and not the murky brown grey it is. It still works with black, but it's a bit awkward with browns, oddly enough. A must if you live anywhere that's on the icy side."
Review 8 for Bare Traps Emilse Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Perfect
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Average
Very Comfy
By: jenu
Location: Daly City, CA
 January 17, 2012

Comfy and warm

"It has been a pretty dry season this year, but I am super excited about my bear traps. So far, I have worn them several times. I tried on in-store and ended up getting a size 7, even though I am usually an 8 (seems like a lot of space from toe to tip of shoe). I got black so they go with just about everything I own, but really do want a pair of brown/tan now. The fur is not fuzzy at all, it is just right. The black on black tone is fairly even (sometimes different materials result in different tones). LOVE the warmth of them though. It may be dry, but it's been cold. I would definitely recommend them. They do fit over jeans, but could be tight on bigger calves. The fur wraps around to the inside, so it keeps your legs nice and warm. I love the height of them too, not too tall, not too short, soles are EXCELLENT for grip, and they don't have a flat sole."
Review 9 for Bare Traps Emilse Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Not Comfy
Average
Very Comfy
By: R2012
Location: NYC
 March 3, 2012
"I was so disappointed in this purchase. I normally love Bare Traps boots and would rate them a 5/5. I wore them all throughout college to last me through the cold and slushy Boston winters. However, I bought the Emilse for this winter in NYC and was so unhappy. I did not use it as much (our winter has been unusually warm and we have not had any snow) yet after a few times wearing them, I noticed that the lining on the inside was completely shredded. And then, the zipper broke. It's frustrating because the boots are normally so comfy and can take quite a beating. Yet this time it just ended up being a complete waste of money. I hope that this isn't an indication that the quality of the company has gone down. Hopefully I just got a faulty pair-however, I am hesitant to repurchase or recommend to anyone."
Review 10 for Bare Traps Emilse Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Not Comfy
More Comfy
Very Comfy
By: CupcakeDiva
Location: USA
 February 14, 2012

OHMIGOD!

Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I am a devout bare trap shoe girl. I love these boots! I bought them because one of my old bare trap boots’ zipper broke it was alright because I owned them for over 4 years and never had a problem. I loved those pairs so much I was actually going to replace the zipper but found out that the cost to replace an entire zipper on one calf boot here in Colorado is the same price it would cost me to get a new pair. So I went shopping and used my discount to get these. I absolutely LOVE them! They are so comfortable and cute! I can dress them up in nice jeans and a cute top or wear them to campus with yoga pants. They're worth EVREY penny! I don’t wear any other boots as much or as often as I do bare Traps they’re that amazing! If I could give them 10 stars I would."
Review 11 for Bare Traps Emilse Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
By: jchere
Location: Chicago, IL
 February 10, 2012

Nice, until they fell apart

"I loved these boots at first. I got them because they were water proof and warm (two very important necessities for a Chicago winter) to replace my old boots that I had for 2 years and were finally starting to break down. After wearing these boots for about 1 month the lining on the back of heel began to wear off and the plastic in the heel started to break into tiny little pieces. The plastic chunks would get under my feet and I would have to stop and remove the entire boot to shake them out, and the plastic that was left jagged at the heel would rip up my socks. I am a ballet dancer so I only wore the boots to get to rehearsal where I would change into dance shoes. Next time I spend that much on boots, hopefully they will be of better quality."
Review 12 for Bare Traps Emilse Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Slightly Short
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Slightly Wide
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Very Comfy
Very Comfy
By: HappyFeet4me
Location: New York
 January 1, 2013

Great Boots

"Love these boots! Great fit, very warm and extremely comfortable. I have had foot surgery and still have a lot of problems, so I need boots with a generous fit and a lot of support. These boots fit the bill. They have a wide toe box, an arch support and cushioning in the heel and under the ball of the foot, just what the doctor ordered. I wore them for several hours right out of the box with no problems and my feet were warm and comfortable. They also fit great around my muscular calves, zipped up easily and were very east to slip on, which is usually a problem for me, since I have a very high instep and bone spurs on the top of my feet. As you can see, I can't say enough about these boots. Shipping was fast also, so I am a very happy customer."
Review 13 for Bare Traps Emilse Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Perfect
Runs Long
Not Comfy
Very Comfy
Very Comfy
By: Stacygrueser
Location: Athens,Ohio
 January 16, 2012

picked the brown and love 'em!want them all!

"I ordered these boots first of all because of the look and all the great reveiws, and I am so happy I did! The fur on the top goes though the whole boot and I can wear them to work (I am on my feet at least 8 hrs a day). They fit perfectly over my leg and skinny jeans look awesome with these boots! I have owned bear traps before and have never been disappointed! I also walk to work and back in these boots in rain and snow my feet stay dry and the boots keep their color no water spots as some I had have done! My only complaint is the sole on the heel has worn down fast where I walk so much! But I would love to have every color in this boot! I WOULD SAY BUY!!! Remember they run big I wear a 8.5 and ordered an 8.5 I should have ordered the 8!"
Review 14 for Bare Traps Emilse Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Not Comfy
More Comfy
Very Comfy
By: eilla
Location: Ohio
 December 23, 2011

Real comfy

"I have been looking for months for a boot that can be worn in the snow, doesn't have a huge heel and is comfy.
HERE IT IS!
Love love LOVE this boot. Super comfy, very warm.
It hasn't snowed yet (yippee!) so I haven't got to see what kind of traction they get in the snow, but I'm sure I will be happy.
I wear an 11M and bought an 11W because I have big calves and figured the wide width would be good if I had to put on thick socks.
They fit perfectly. There is a buckle on the side you can adjust if you need it tighter or a little looser.
I bought in black and may consider buying in the brown, too.
This is my first Bare Traps purchase and would definitely considering buying this brand again based on comfort.
"
Review 15 for Bare Traps Emilse Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Runs Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
More Comfy
Very Comfy
By: JennyOR
Location: Oregon
 December 14, 2011

So comfortable and cute!

"For the cold Oregon winters and walking all around downtown Portland and my college campus, these boots are perfect! They fit wonderfully, are super warm and have a great comfortable footbed, that at least for me, didn't require any breaking in. I usually wear somewhere between an 8.5 and 9, and I tried on both sizes in the regular width in the store. The 8.5 fit but was a little tight on the sides of my feet, while a 9 was just to big. Therefore I ended up purchased an 8.5 in the wide width online, which fit perfectly when it arrived. For those who are wondering, the wide width only applies to the footbed, not to the space for the calf, as a regular width and the wide with fit the same on my calves."
Review 16 for Bare Traps Emilse Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Slightly Short
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
More Comfy
Very Comfy
By: DanaMC
Location: Michigan
 January 19, 2013

So comfy....until they cut your foot!

"These shoes have BEYOND comfortable soles. They are very light and you forget you are wearing them. They also kept my feet warm in the frigid Michigan weather. Unfortunately, after a few hours of walking, these boots cut my right ankle. Other reviews have mentioned this, but I was hoping I'd be an exception. There is a piece of plastic on the ankle of the boot that probably provides structure and ends up hitting your ankle as you walk. I'm not sure if I was in the wrong size shoe or not, but I cannot wear these without pain and am returning them. If you really want these boots, I recommend wearing them around your house or the store, or buying extremely thick socks to protect your ankle!"
Review 17 for Bare Traps Emilse Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Perfect
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Average
Very Comfy
By: Panthersgirl
Location: Chicago
 September 18, 2013

Seems to be nice boot

"Just got these boots. Have yet to wear them, but I got them for the purpose of winter. I have bunions, so I'm always concerned about the width of any shoe, but these seem to be comfortable. One of the biggest concerns with boots is that I have an athletic calf, and most boots seem to be too snug in the shaft to zipper up. These do zipper, although I think I'll have to scrunch them down just a bit for added comfort. Will not have enough room for a jean tuck.
Very very cute boot - I got them in brown. Hopefully they are as comfortable as I expect them to be. My friend at work had an earlier version of a Bear Traps boot and she loved them - wore them all winter long. Good Luck! :)"
Review 18 for Bare Traps Emilse Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Not Comfy
Average
Very Comfy
By: Mosagirl
Location: Alamosa, Colorado
 February 2, 2013

Very Nice, but some issues.

"I bought these shoes to wear in the snowy mountains of Colorado. With temperatures below -40, they worked moderately well. For temperatures from 0 and above they are much warmer. I really loved how comfortable they were. However, the zipper near the ankle started acting up, and eventually it would continually be stuck. Also, finally the zipper broke completely near the ankle. I have only had them for 4 months. I have worn them probably at least 5 times a week every week. It might just be normal wear and tear, but I am pretty upset they did not even last an entire winter season. The suede does hold up nicely when wet and they are very waterproof."
Review 19 for Bare Traps Emilse Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Not Comfy
More Comfy
Very Comfy
By: Snowcrystal
Location: WindyCity
 January 16, 2012

Unbelievable

"I have a hard time finding an 11w that is comfortable. Right out of the box I was jumping around in them, I could not believe how comfortable these were. I never bought online before but I read the reviews and the fact that you can return to a store I took a chance. I usually don't have enough toe room they have a high toebox, some people are saying the calf is tight, I think they are ment to be scrunched down a bit. I haven't bin in puddles yet but snow beads right off and I was even out in the yard in deep snow barefoot for a while and stayed warm. I have been telling everyone if you need boots get Bare Traps, they are like wearing slippers."
Review 20 for Bare Traps Emilse Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Perfect
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Perfect
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Average
Very Comfy
By: JoooRooo
Location: Philadelphia, PA
 November 13, 2011

Runs big

"I just bought these yesterday. They're very warm and comfy as I tested them out in my house just to be sure. After trying on the three different colors of these shoes and 2 sizes of each, I find them to run big. I normally wear a 9.5 and had to get a 9 and this was with a simple white sport sock and figured what more are you really going to wear with this boot? Weird.Also, as I've struggled with a bit wider calves I can just about get these zipped up over tights and it's debatable if I can do it over a slimmer pair of jeans. I just hope they're stylish enough for me as a stay at home mom. would love to know what age rage is buying this shoe."