Customer Reviews for Arturo Chiang Arturo Chaing Vala Wide Calf Boot

Arturo Chiang Arturo Chaing Vala Wide Calf Boot

Arturo Chaing Vala Wide Calf Boot
Average Customer Rating:
3.461 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
2
17 of 2665%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Arturo Chaing Vala Wide Calf Boot
Review 1 for Arturo Chaing Vala Wide Calf Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
By: Beckaroo
Location: Covington, KY
 February 15, 2013

So disappointed

" I ordered these online and was so bummed when I opened the box. I wanted a more rustic look. These aren't at all. They look like cheap Nine West boots from the 90's, with the cheap looking sole and heel. I didn't even try them on and am taking them back to the store today. :( Darn it. "
Review 2 for Arturo Chaing Vala Wide Calf Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Not Comfy
More Comfy
Very Comfy
By: ShoeDivaDeb
Location: Mount Vernon NY
 February 9, 2013

Trendy and cute

" I bought this for my 18 year old college freshman. She loves them! they are just as fabulous as pictured. She has wide calves and these boots fit over her skinny jeans with comfort. She wears them with leggings, skinny jeans and short skirts ... very versatile and trendy ... great buy at a great price! "
Review 3 for Arturo Chaing Vala Wide Calf Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
By: txbonfire
Location: texas
 January 26, 2013

boots that are perfect for low country or uptown

" fits just as described. perfect in the foot and ankle, wide at the calf. perfect for wearing them with skinny jeans, legging, or a dress! "
Review 4 for Arturo Chaing Vala Wide Calf Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Perfect
Runs Long
Not Comfy
Average
Very Comfy
By: Olchik
Location: Houston, TX
 January 19, 2013

love them!

" someone said they run small, so I purchased 2 pairs in different sizes just to make sure I get it right - they are actually true to size, comfortable, look great, natural leather, and I like that the leather is a bit stiff - will hold the form better and last longer. And you cannot beat the price! "
Review 5 for Arturo Chaing Vala Wide Calf Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
By: RLFlores
Location: Houston, TX
 January 18, 2013

Arturo Chaing Vala Wide Calf Boot

" These boots are very high - they came to the middle of my knee. But the rest of the details were great - so great that i decided to try tucking in the top so that the boots came below my knee. I may take them to shoe repair and have them stitched down. I wore them and was able to wear them all day without any problems. The buckles are really cute - leather is excellent. Arturo Chaing makes great shoes and these shoes did not disappoint. Good stable heel. Look exceptionally cute ! i do not have big calves so they are loose but i still like them. so if you do have big calves - this definitely is the boot for you. "
Review 6 for Arturo Chaing Vala Wide Calf Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Not Comfy
More Comfy
Very Comfy
By: SlavetotheShoe
Location: Washington, DC
 January 17, 2013

These boots are definitely made for Walkin!

" I purchased the Arturo Chaing Vala Wide Calf Boots in black and brown. Have to admit that I was pretty nervous purchasing boots online that I had never even seen nor tried on but you know what...I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE them! I had no issues working the city sidewalks in these amazingly comfortable boots on the very first day! I am a runner so my calves are a bit to large for regular knee high boots. I was so excited when I found a pair of stylish wide calf riding/knee high boots (with decent heel) that I could dress up or down! They are AWESOME! I would tell everyone about these boots and DSW's stellar service! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!
Signed,
SlavetotheShoe
"
Review 7 for Arturo Chaing Vala Wide Calf Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Not Comfy
Not Comfy
Very Comfy
By: Side421
Location: Phoenix
 January 16, 2013

OUCH!

" VERY painful. Boots do not zip the full length from ankle to top - zipper only opens a small section of the boot just above the ankle. They are difficult to get on and off. In addition, the top of the foot curves down toward the foot and is very stiff - it dug into the top of my foot and made it quite painful to wear these. Boots are beautiful if you can tolerate getting into them and wearing them. "
Review 8 for Arturo Chaing Vala Wide Calf Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
By: kiddie35
Location: Charlotte, NC
 January 14, 2013

LOVE THESE!

" These boots are perfect - very comfortable - true to size. I can wear them all day and my feet don't hurt at the end of the day.. "
Review 9 for Arturo Chaing Vala Wide Calf Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Slightly Short
Runs Long
By: SupermomNY511
Location: Dutchess County, NY
 January 14, 2013

Lesson-Read Reviews

" Wish I had read reviews before ordering! Should have ordered half-size bigger but that size no longer available. I love these boots so much that I am keeping and going to try to stretch! The leather upper is beautiful and smells delightful. They are just a gorgeous boot and for the price can't be beat! Just need to be half-size bigger and they would be perfect! "
Review 10 for Arturo Chaing Vala Wide Calf Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Not Comfy
Average
Very Comfy
By: LindaMD
Location: Waldorf, MD
 January 11, 2013

Love them!

" The boots fit true to size and are very comfortable. "
Review 11 for Arturo Chaing Vala Wide Calf Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Runs Narrow
Slightly Wide
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Less Comfy
Very Comfy
By: jgreene
Location: Charlotte, NC
 January 10, 2013
" Like some other reviewer said, they boots are very tall, and since they are so wide at the calf they look terrible on. sorry - these are going back. if you are over 6 feet tall with large calves, these may work for you. "
Review 12 for Arturo Chaing Vala Wide Calf Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Slightly Long
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Slightly Wide
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Less Comfy
Very Comfy
By: Jwag
Location: Gilberts, IL
 January 10, 2013

Great Pair of Boots

" This is a great pair of boots, especially if you have wide calves. I have 16" calves and I still have room to wear skinny jeans and not have the boots pinch. Yes, the leather is stiff, but considering the height of the shaft, if it didn't have some stiffness they would not keep their shape and slouch. I did take other reviews into account and did order a 1/2 size bigger and I am happy I did. I am normally a 9 and the 9.5 fits great! They are a little on the tall side - but I am 5'6" with a short inseam, they hit right below my knee. Can't be beat for leather boots at a price like this! I wish I had been able to order the brown in my size! "
Review 13 for Arturo Chaing Vala Wide Calf Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Not Comfy
Average
Very Comfy
By: Anonymous
Location: Cincinnati
 January 7, 2013

Amazing boots!

" I was a little concerned after reading some reviews. I have very muscular calves and have ordered several pairs of boots, none of which work because the calf circumference isn't enough. These say 15.5, which is absolutely accurate, and they're perfect. Although there were complaints about the tightness around the ankle, I like a snugger fit at the ankle because I think it better supports my ankles. I love these boots AND they cost only a third of what the other boots cost. AND, these are leather! So happy with this purchase! "
Review 14 for Arturo Chaing Vala Wide Calf Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Slightly Short
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Less Comfy
Very Comfy
By: FGWatson
Location: Alabama
 January 7, 2013

Not wide-calf

" I listened to the reviews (thanks everyone) and ordered a 9, instead of my normal 8 or 8 1/2. In a 9, the calf circumference was only 14 inches. I can zip them, but BARELY. They're at home stretching before I wear them. Also, I have a high arch, and normally add arch supports to all new shoes. These will be difficult since they're already tight across the instep. I will probably keep them, but only because I got them for $50. I'll stretch/work with them since they were a bargain. I would send them back if I'd paid full-price. "
Review 15 for Arturo Chaing Vala Wide Calf Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Slightly Long
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Less Comfy
Very Comfy
By: ErinMH
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
 January 3, 2013

Great look, bad fit

" These boots are absolutely amazing! And I mean amazing looking. But that's it. I bought the wide calf, and by no means do I have a wide calf. I just wanted extra room for jeans, or socks. When I went to try them on, I had to force my narrow skinny foot into them. The foot part is so tight, it cuts off the circulation in my feet. It has nothing to do with needing a bigger size either. My toes didn't hit the end of the tip, but rather the foot part just wasn't wide enough, and again I have a narrow size 7 1/2 foot. I'm also 5'4" and the top of the boot just hits wear my knee starts, giving no shape at all to my legs. I'm very very disappointed. I've been searching for the perfect brown boot and I'm sad to say they will be returned. "
Review 16 for Arturo Chaing Vala Wide Calf Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Not Comfy
Less Comfy
Very Comfy
By: Tonsofcurlz
Location: Boston, MA
 December 13, 2012

Not Wide Calf!

" These boots are absolutely stunning but I, regretfully, had to return. Arturo Chiang is generally known for quality, but these boots are a real miss. I wondered why they were sold at such a discounted price. I have 16 inch calves and I couldn't even get my foot into the boot. The leather is much too hard and the calf is nowhere near what most would consider "wide". In addition, the boot is very high. I'm 5 ft and the boot would have come up to my knees if I could get it on. Beautiful boot but doesn't work for a wide calf. "
Review 17 for Arturo Chaing Vala Wide Calf Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Runs Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Average
Very Comfy
By: lionsfan
Location: Novi, MI
 December 3, 2012

Runs a full size small

" I like the boots a lot...right height, look nice...harder to put on with zipper at the bottom, but I made it all work...except the foot was so small, I will probably bypass the 9.5 and go straight to a 10...I can tell I'll need to go up a full size. "
Review 18 for Arturo Chaing Vala Wide Calf Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Slightly Short
Runs Long
Not Comfy
Less Comfy
Very Comfy
By: Lot920
Location: Birmingham, MI
 December 2, 2012

Cute boot (when I altered it!)

" I wear either an 8.5 or a 9. I tried the 8.5 on in the store and it seemed "a little uncomfortable". The store didn't have a size 9 to try on.
I thought the boot looked great and, although it said "WIDE CALF", both my friend and I thought it fit my (non-wide) calves well. It definitely did not look "wide".
I ordered the larger size (the size 9) online, assuming I'd find it more comfortable -- especially since I could add a cushioned insole. When it arrived...yikes...the calf was HUGE -- it really was "wide"! Not sure why the first pair looked fine but, since I don't have a wide calf, the boot looked very "wrong".
Since the rest of the boot looked super-fantastic, being stubborn, I asked a local shoe repair to cut down the calf width. I was warned that it would be difficult, due to the lining, etc., but when I pushed the nice man, and asked him to be creative, we found a short cut: sew, snip, patch (which helped to keep costs down -- $20/boot).
Now...the boots look AMAZING -- front view, and (on me) the side view!
The comfort is just "okay"...keeping in mind, I prefer actual comfort (sneakers, flats, etc). I walked a few blocks (maybe a 10 minute walk altogether) and, after a while, strangely, the top of my toes were a little sore.
Pain / schmang...they look GREAT! "
Review 19 for Arturo Chaing Vala Wide Calf Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
By: shewlover
Location: San Francisco, CA
 November 30, 2012

disappointed

" i took a chance on these despite the previous reviews and am here to confirm that these are not a true wide calf boot. i could manage the stiffness people mentioned if i could actually wear them. it's too bad since they look great! if your calf is around 16" or smaller maybe they will fit...they do not fit my calves but i have a hard time even with most wider calf boots anyways. hope they work out better for you! "
Review 20 for Arturo Chaing Vala Wide Calf Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Runs Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Not Comfy
Very Comfy
By: MaurMaur
Location: PA
 November 25, 2012
" these boots run very small. definitely order a half, if not full, size up. and they don't feel like wide calf boots at all. they are also very stiff and uncomfortable, and don't look as nice in person. returned. "