Customer Reviews for Two Lips Two Lips Lockdown Riding Boot

Two Lips Two Lips Lockdown Riding Boot

Two Lips Lockdown Riding Boot
Average Customer Rating:
3.474 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
3
13 of 1968%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Two Lips Lockdown Riding Boot
Review 1 for Two Lips Lockdown Riding Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Perfect
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Perfect
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Very Comfy
Very Comfy
By: onthehunt
Location: Boulder, Colorado
 October 21, 2014

Finally! Tall boots for skinny calves!

"I have size 10 bony feet with bunions and a 12" calf circumference. Looking for sleek low-heeled boots that fit both parts has been so hard! A little bagggy can be cute, but slightly bowed legs in really wide boots just looks wrong. Saw these on a tall skinny woman and they looked great.. I got a size 10.
The lacing in the back is way sleeker than the combat look in the front would be and the low heel balances the "corset" look. The leather is soft and not too shiny. The fit is wide enough for my bigger gnarlier foot but not too sloppy on my smaller foot and the heels are not too loose. I can wear a thin Smartwool sock in them right now. If i wanted to wear a heavy sock, I'm pretty sure the soft leather would stretch, but if it's that cold, I'll be in furry winter boots. The style is relaxed but my feet don't look huge. The laces let me fit my skinny calves without gapping and add a little dimension to them. And then I can just use the zipper for easy on/off. Yay!!
The only thing I don't like (and previously found with Two Lips ankle boots) is that the heels "clack" when walking on hard surfaces. The boots are lightweight and it seems the heels are hollow. The sole has a rubbery piece with little ridges, but the heels have a harder material. So I just dropped them off at the cobbler and he will fill the heels and replace their bottoms with Vibram for about $25. Then I'll waterproof-spray them and I'll have just what I was looking for and still at a great price! I'm looking forward to wearing them with skinny pants and dresses and skirts. Thank you, DSW!"
Review 2 for Two Lips Lockdown Riding Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Slightly Long
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Perfect
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
More Comfy
Very Comfy
By: MelVDL
Location: Ventura, CA
 October 13, 2014

Disappointed

"I was so excited to get these boots.. shopped around for about a month before picking this pair. I bought a half size smaller according to the reviews I read and that ended up working perfectly for me. I am usually a size 7, plus my feet are narrow, so the half size down fits just right.
My main beef with the boots was their appearance and quality. When I opened the box I was really disappointed. There were permanent looking creases all over the ankle and up the sides of the boots. It looks like they were stored in a 6 inch cube for over a year before I got them. The "leather" feels paper thin and actually looks like it'll rip within a few weeks of normal day wear. I even had a few different friends look and feel before putting up my review. All agree that the leather feels soft, but looks cheap and does feel like it'll rip any day. I'm so bummed...I couldn't wait to get them. And hopefully my rewards are returned when I send these back. Otherwise I'll be buying boots elsewhere since I used $20 of rewards on these."
Review 3 for Two Lips Lockdown Riding Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Perfect
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Perfect
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Average
Very Comfy
By: Gracie17
Location: Rhode Island
 September 24, 2014

Returned

"Love the style of these boots but could not zip up. Returned."
Review 4 for Two Lips Lockdown Riding Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Runs Long
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Slightly Wide
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
More Comfy
Very Comfy
By: PRBootLover
Location: Ohio
 November 25, 2013

Absolutely LOVE LOVE LOVE these Boots!!

"They run on the Long & Wide side!
I usually wear an 8M but I believe a 71/2 or 7 would have been more appropriate. However, I'm so in love with these boots that I decided to keep them. I placed-in a pair of "insoles," and they do the trick. Since, they are so roomy, I can wear them with extra thick boot socks, They are Fantastic!!
Very roomy foot bed!!
I also love the fact that they have a zippers. Therefore, not having to deal and adjust tide-ups every single time. You can adjust the tide-ups to your desire (appropriate) width and then just zipped-up.
They look marvelous with skirts and jeans!!
Fantastic look!
I get lots and lots of compliments every single time I wear them!
"
Review 5 for Two Lips Lockdown Riding Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Runs Long
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Average
Very Comfy
By: Iamabootlover
Location: Las Vegas
 November 25, 2013

Cute but hard to fit

"These boots are adorable but hard to get the correct fit. I wish DSW carried more of a selection in the store because when it comes to boots you really need to try them on in several sizes.
I wear a 7 & they are long. The adjustable back is great, for average calves, not wide .
"
Review 6 for Two Lips Lockdown Riding Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Perfect
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Perfect
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
More Comfy
Very Comfy
By: Karenn
Location: NY
 November 14, 2013
"I love these boots. I have skinny legs and always have hard time finding the boots that fits me but these just works really well because of the laces. FYI: although it states that these are wide calf boots, but they really arent. Even if you open the laces, they dont open too much so i wouldnt suggest these for those who are looking for wide calf."
Review 7 for Two Lips Lockdown Riding Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Perfect
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Perfect
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Very Comfy
Very Comfy
By: Sky123
Location: Levittown NY
 November 13, 2013

Love them!

"I love these boots! Not only do they look great but they are so comfortable!"
Review 8 for Two Lips Lockdown Riding Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Slightly Short
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Average
Very Comfy
By: tal25
Location: Hugo, MN
 November 13, 2013

disappointed

"I read in a review that because you could loosen up the ties this would work with bigger calves...NOPE. It just doesn't look good once you loosen up the ties. This boot is made for skinny calves. And my calves aren't that big!!!"
Review 9 for Two Lips Lockdown Riding Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Runs Long
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Average
Very Comfy
By: umbra
Location: austin
 November 10, 2013

cute boots, but not for wide calves

"Love the way the boots looked, but as several reviewers have stated, these should not be labeled as wide calf. My calves are 15.5 inches at the widest part and they were super tight. I had to loosen the laces all the way and leave two sets at the top unlaced. So, there was no way I was going to be able to wear skinny jeans with these boots. I also agree with the other reviewers that this boot runs a full size too big. I am usually a 7.5 and I ordered a 6.5, which fit perfectly. I recommend these for ladies with regular calves."
Review 10 for Two Lips Lockdown Riding Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Perfect
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Average
Very Comfy
By: Ogawa
Location: Chesapeake, VA
 October 29, 2013

Narrow and slippery, but love the calf fit!

"These boots run a little on the narrow side in the foot and the bottoms are a bit slippery, but I love the calf fit and the style of them sooo much! My calves seem to be right on the cusp of regular to wide, and I have a hard time finding boots that fit - they are either way too tight or fit like I'm standing in buckets. I really like that they lace up the back, too. I think it makes them more unique....and a little sexy. :)"
Review 11 for Two Lips Lockdown Riding Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Perfect
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Very Comfy
Very Comfy
By: Lexinator
Location: Houston, TX
 October 28, 2013

L-O-V-E these boots

"So I initially had some reservations about these boots because I wanted some REAL NICE LEATHER boots. And these aren't a high-end leather but yes they are leather. I also didn't want riding boots with alot of flare, and the entire back of these boots are a TRUE lace up, which I consider very "flare-y." But with all that said I bought the boots and I LOVE them. I had very petite ankles and I don't particularly like when boots look very blocked at the ankle. I also find it's a huge problem with larger sizes (I wear a 9.5) that the calf area is gigantic (even though a boot will say a 13inch circumference, that's usually off a size 6 or 7...for a larger size the circumference is always bigger). These boots completely eliminate that problem because you can adjust them to fit you properly since they're a lace-up. I wore these boots for 2 days straight at an Octoberfest festival, which included miles of walking and they were extremely comfortable (even without breaking them in). I also gets tons of compliments on these boots! With all that said, I completely recommend them!"
Review 12 for Two Lips Lockdown Riding Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Runs Long
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Perfect
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Average
Very Comfy
By: onlysony72
Location: Vancouver
 October 24, 2013

Not for Wide Calf

"I have very muscular calves and had to unlace these boots and fully extend them to be able to zip them up and then they were still TIGHT. As well, I wear a size 8, ordered a size 8 but to make these fit I'll need to add an insole. They run a size big. I would have returned these ones except I already did that once when they sent me a 7.5 and an 8 the first time around."
Review 13 for Two Lips Lockdown Riding Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Perfect
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Less Comfy
Very Comfy
By: AnnieMKP
Location: Southern California
 October 21, 2013

NOT for wide calves at all

"Although this is a very attractive boot, it is absolutely NOT for wide calves whatsoever. I'm so disappointed it is advertised as such as this is completely wrong. DO NOT BUY if you need wide-calf boots. You will be disappointed too. Now I have to go through the stupid hassle of returning them and finding something else. NOT HAPPY at all. If I could give it zero stars, I would."
Review 14 for Two Lips Lockdown Riding Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Runs Long
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Perfect
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Very Comfy
Very Comfy
By: Heelzbaby
Location: Houston, Tx area
 October 17, 2013

FINALLY...a riding boot that fits!!

"This boot is totally gorgeous. And, as others have noted, should NOT be called "wide calf"; it is adjustable, not wide. I have calves that are approximately 13.75" inches (not a big person) and anything over 14.5" just looks ridiculous; like I am wearing my father's boots. These fit beautifully from the top to the toe, thanks to the lacing the extends all the way down to the heel. You make them as tight or as loose as you need to, depending on if you are wearing jeans, tights, or nothing. I am 5'3" and they are about 1.5" underneath my knee bone (not the cap) when standing. Totally comfortable, with enough snugness in the foot to keep them from slipping but still enough room to wear socks. (I prefer thin ones to thicker ones, but could wear medium thickness and still feel great.)
The leather is very nice: soft but not flimsy. The stitching across the toe is also wonderful, without looking cheesy.
However, the only thing about them that could lead someone to pulling out their hair is that they run VERY, VERY LONG. These run a full size too large, in length. Took me 3 tries to get it right: went from my usual 7.5 to a 6.5. They weren't too wide in the larger sizes, just too long.
I highly recommend this boot. However, it would be fabulous if you wouldn't mind holding off on buying them in brown until I get mine next month...don't want them to be sold out! :D"
Review 15 for Two Lips Lockdown Riding Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Perfect
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Perfect
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Average
Very Comfy
By: AmBertie
Location: LB, California
 October 11, 2013

Wanted to like them, but did not fit the bill

"First off, I have wide calves, so this boot seemed perfect! I loved the photos online and was super excited to receive them (ordered size 11 in brown), but I wasn't wowed when I opened the box, especially for the price I paid. I found the construction of the boot to be a bit too flimsy, and they did gather a bit at the ankle. Also, after re-lacing, my wide calves just didn't allow the laces to reach the upper grommets on the back of the boot, leaving about 2-3 that weren't laced. (For reference, the widest part of my calf is 17", standing, bare :))
All in all, I could have replaced the laces with longer ones, and they were cute boots, but the construction didn't make me happy and the potential of the boot was not met in the concept design.
"
Review 16 for Two Lips Lockdown Riding Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Slightly Long
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Perfect
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Very Comfy
Very Comfy
By: JennB7
Location: Virginia
 October 5, 2013

Great boots!

"These boots should not be listed as wide calf, but rather adjustable calf. I was concerned to buy them because I was looking for a tighter fit. The lacing allows for complete adjustment.
From the front they look great! The toe is not too clunky and the boot is stiff so you don't get the cheap look at the ankle. I also loved that they didn't have that cheap, shiny quality that makes a lot of black boots look like santa claus should be wearing them.
Overall, loved them! Super comfy and very happy I bought them!"
Review 17 for Two Lips Lockdown Riding Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Slightly Long
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Slightly Wide
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
More Comfy
Very Comfy
By: Nellee
Location: Utah
 October 2, 2013

Cute and classy

"These boots a very classy and go with everything. I thought the laces may look a little too sexy for work but more plain front and low heel evens out the back. I have very narrow calves and even though they say wide the laces make it so you can tighten them up to a perfect size without having to cinch them up too much. It's a very versatile design. They may run a little big I usually wear a 6.5 or 7. I ordered a 6.5 and could have maybe done a 6 because they are slightly wide in the foot."
Review 18 for Two Lips Lockdown Riding Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Perfect
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Perfect
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Very Comfy
Very Comfy
By: TKA1
Location: Colorado
 September 26, 2013

Boots

"Love these Boots. Perfect fit."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Two Lips Lockdown Riding Boot
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Product Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1
Runs Short
3 out of 5
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
3 out of 5
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
5 out of 5
Very Comfy