Customer Reviews for Urban Expressions Handbags Urban Expressions Dakota Zipper Tote

Urban Expressions Handbags Urban Expressions Dakota Zipper Tote

Urban Expressions Dakota Zipper Tote
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(84 Reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (84 reviews)
5 stars
56
4 stars
17
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
2
74 of 8488%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Urban Expressions Dakota Zipper Tote
Review 21 for Urban Expressions Dakota Zipper Tote
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
By: SAM14
Location: Connecticut
 December 3, 2013

Fabulous

" My new favorite purse! I love the zipper detailing, the optional cross-body strap, and color. The capacity is great too, I'm always toting around so much stuff with me and it's great to find a purse that can hold it all, but still look great while doing it. When the bag first arrived there was a slight smell, but after a few days of use it was gone. "
Review 22 for Urban Expressions Dakota Zipper Tote
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
By: KQ28CA
Location: Ca
 November 22, 2013

I Love it!!!

Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" Color, size, shape, and style are just perfect... "
Review 23 for Urban Expressions Dakota Zipper Tote
Overall Product Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
By: Arrozo
Location: Denver, Colorado
 November 13, 2013

Great bag for the price

" Overall, this is a great practical bag. I needed a bag that was tall enough to fit a sack lunch and light winter gear and this one works perfectly. It's a bit slouchy, but it doesn't matter because all the stuff I put inside makes it stand on its own when full. It lends itself well to lighter items. Although it is large enough to fit one, I wouldn't use it for a weighty laptop and such.
The bottom of the bag is fairly sturdy and not too flimsy. The sole outside zippered pocket opens about 6 inches and you can reach in about 5 inches - so perfect for a thin wallet or a smaller tablet or phone, etc.
On the inside, there is another similar-sized zippered pocket (adjacent to the outer one). There are two more open pockets on the other side (interior) and I can fit my encased iPhone 4 easily in either one. The interior lining is a light-colored mixed patterned cotton blend which allows me to find stuff easily when digging around. The faux outer zippers on the front bottom are a nice touch.
The only minor complaint I have is that closing the main zipper is a two-hand operation. You need to specifically hold the top of the zipper tab with one hand while pulling the zipper closed with the other hand, but it's not a huge inconvenience. The zipper pull itself is a good 2.5 inches long, which makes it easy to hold and pull and it's made of the same material as the bag.
I would say this bag is good for short commutes between your home, your car, and your nearby place of business. "
Review 24 for Urban Expressions Dakota Zipper Tote
Overall Product Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
By: Trixie1
Location: Minneapolis, MN
 October 30, 2013

Disappointed

" I love the look of this bag but I've only used it for about a week and the "pleather" is already coming off on the outside corners. I'm bummed! "
Review 25 for Urban Expressions Dakota Zipper Tote
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
By: pcarleto
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
 October 24, 2013

Awesome Bag!

" I purchased this in the Navy Blue. The size is perfect! The color is neutral! I receive TONS of compliments on it! Love, love, love!!! "
Review 26 for Urban Expressions Dakota Zipper Tote
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
By: Anonymous
Location: Jacksonville, FL
 October 22, 2013

Love this Vegan Bag!

" I love this vegan bag. The color was true to the website description and picture. The bag was bigger than expected but I am glad. My bag does not smell as others reviewed the item said. Right on with this bag DSW! "
Review 27 for Urban Expressions Dakota Zipper Tote
Overall Product Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
By: amandajo926
Location: Altus,OK
 October 18, 2013

Too big!

" This purse is very cute, however it is HUGE and VERY heavy even without anything in it so by the time you put your stuff in, it's way way too heavy!!! "
Review 28 for Urban Expressions Dakota Zipper Tote
Overall Product Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
By: Nineu
Location: Washington, DC
 October 15, 2013

Durable Bag

" Just what the title says, it's a durable bag. The vegan "leather" is not even close to realistic, and that's just about my only gripe. I've had this bag almost two years, and the lining is just starting to tear. The zipper gave out after a year and a half of daily use, but it keeps pretty much closed anyway. All in all, a great bag if you don't want to spend a ton on a tote. "
Review 29 for Urban Expressions Dakota Zipper Tote
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
By: kfl28
Location: Los Angeles, CA
 October 15, 2013

My new favorite purse!

" I love this purse! I wish they had it in the taupe color, because I would buy that one too. I was nervous about the zipper color - one picture made it look silver, another looked gold. But I was pleased to find out it was gold. I love the option to wear it as a handbag or a shoulder/crossbody bag. When I travel, it's nice to get it out of my hands and not have to worry about it. It's a little heavy (even empty) but I'm used to large purses so it doesn't bother me. "
Review 30 for Urban Expressions Dakota Zipper Tote
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
By: itslikeKahlua
Location: Atlanta
 October 14, 2013

Love it!

" I love this bag! I bought it in Ivory and Cognac...and people always ask me who the designer is! It's just big enough for all my essentials, but not too big. Love it! "
Review 31 for Urban Expressions Dakota Zipper Tote
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Runs Long
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Very Comfy
Very Comfy
By: CocoRiggies
Location: Marcy, NY
 October 1, 2013

Love, love, love this BIG bag!!

" I love this bag! It is beautiful, soft and the lining is really pretty. But it is really BIG! It is too big for what I am looking for so I will be returning it. I'm dissapointed it is so big because I love it. The pictures are misleading. I wish it was smaller. "
Review 32 for Urban Expressions Dakota Zipper Tote
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
By: Stefybaby
Location: Peekskill New york
 September 28, 2013
" i love it awwwwwwwwww "
Review 33 for Urban Expressions Dakota Zipper Tote
Overall Product Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
By: MissTran
Location: OC
 September 27, 2013

awesome travel bag

" I bought this as a "work" bag but it was WAY too big. Got a great deal so didn't want to return it. Will make good use of it! "
Review 34 for Urban Expressions Dakota Zipper Tote
Overall Product Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
By: 2013morgan
Location: parkslope
 September 25, 2013

spacious bag

" great work bag. I carry my phone, keys, wallet and lunch. There's plenty of space for a sweater, med size laptop or tablet. The only negative is that its a bit heavy even when empty. "
Review 35 for Urban Expressions Dakota Zipper Tote
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
By: jenny2penny
Location: Kernersville, NC
 September 13, 2013

Great tote!

" I love this bag! It's a great size to fit what I need & I like the hardware & braids. The faux leather is soft & easily pass for leather. I love that is zipper closes too. The blue & black are both beautiful! "
Review 36 for Urban Expressions Dakota Zipper Tote
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
By: ClaireSilv
Location: San Diego
 August 30, 2013

Addressing others complaints...

" First off, I LOVE this bag. 100% satisfied with my purchase. So i read all of the other reviews before I purchased the bag, and was really worried it would have a "fishy" smell or look used and I would have to return it. The bag I received does have a smell, but it smells like a new bag... I didn't notice anything bad or unusual about the way it smells. Another review said her bag came and it looked used, my bad came beautifully wrapped, with every buckle and zipper tissue wrapped, clearly is new. Just a note, in the black version (the one i purchased...) on line it appears that the zippers and buckles are silver but they are gold. I am really sorry that others did not have a perfect experience as I did, but those reading the other reviews, do not hesitate! My possible only complaint is that the shoulder straps are really short, but the bag slouches allowing for a larger opening, I am not a small girl and it accommodates my shoulder just fine :) "
Review 37 for Urban Expressions Dakota Zipper Tote
Overall Product Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
By: Hipichic
Location: San Diego
 August 21, 2013

Vegan Purse

" This is such a gorgeous purse! I have the brown one which is actually more like orange or burnt sienna (from the Crayola 64 box). It is very feminine looking, but sturdy at the same time. That's necessary if you fill your purse with 50 pounds of stuff like I do! In the description of this item it says "made with all vegan materials". I'm not sure how that is different from "man-made materials". Nevertheless, its a great conversation piece: when I receive a compliment about the bag, I respond - and its vegan! "
Review 38 for Urban Expressions Dakota Zipper Tote
Overall Product Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
By: MOMMY213
Location: Bristol,CT
 August 2, 2013

WOW!!

" I didn't realize how much room is in here.....i'm still deciding if this is a keeper for me, because, i'm not too sure it looks ok with my shorter height!! LOL ----I don't want it to look overpowering, but, looks exactly like a designer bag; and great color for fall and neutral :) "
Review 39 for Urban Expressions Dakota Zipper Tote
Overall Product Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
By: UnKnownPerson
Location: Tallahassee, FL
 July 6, 2013

Cute HandBag

" This is the first time I been in DSW Store in Tallahassee, FL
Anyways, this was the first item I have brought during my first time vist shopping there. I love how the bag feels & is very room & you can put alot of things in your bag. I brought this bag in the color of Brown.
"
Review 40 for Urban Expressions Dakota Zipper Tote
Overall Product Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
By: sm73
Location: New York
 July 2, 2013

New or used?...and stinks!

" One star for the size and color. Unfortunately, that is all I can positively say about it. The bag I received had a hole in the lining, the name plate in the lining was scratched extensively, handles too short, numerous areas on the bag itself were scuffed and peeling, and the metal areas were scratched. Lastly, there is no way I could carry this bag around all day with it's horrible smell. "