Customer Reviews for Coconuts Coconuts Bernie Riding Boot

Coconuts Coconuts Bernie Riding Boot

Coconuts Bernie Riding Boot
Average Customer Rating:
4.143 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
12 of 1486%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Coconuts Bernie Riding Boot
Review 1 for Coconuts Bernie Riding Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Slightly Short
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Less Comfy
Very Comfy
By: Clementine13
Location: Huntsville, AL
 October 10, 2014
"I loved these shoes - great looking, nice leather material. But they just weren't comfortable enough for me to keep. They were still very wearable, but if I'm paying for a real leather boot I want them to be extremely comfortable for all-day walking wear. Returning them to find something with the same look but comfier. This was my experience with another Coconuts pair as well."
Review 2 for Coconuts Bernie Riding Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Perfect
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Perfect
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Average
Very Comfy
By: Snickerdoodlez
Location: NH
 January 21, 2014

Great Fit! Calf isn't extra large for a size 11

Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I have tried on boots in stores and ordered two pairs online and they all seem to swim around my calves. I am 5'9", 132lb, and have about a 14.5" calf circumference. When I read a review from someone that bought these in a 10 and they mentioned that the calf was 15", I was hopeful that the 11 would be close and it is. There is only about a finger width of room around my calf and the measurement is 15". I also decided if I didn't want the extra room I could even add a thin leg warmer and fold it down over the top of the boot for a snugger look. I got the idea from a pair of sweater top boots I saw a few years ago at DSW that I wish I had the money at the time to buy. Thought I would share that idea for those of you with the same boot problems. These boots have a slight cushion and they do feel a little stiff around the ankles, but I expect that to break down after a few days of wearing them as they are real leather. The distressed look is much more distressed in person as some of the other reviewers mentioned, but I don't mind as I only plan to wear them with jeans."
Review 3 for Coconuts Bernie Riding Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Perfect
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
More Comfy
Very Comfy
By: mck89h
Location: Massachusetts
 October 5, 2013

Coconuts Bernie

"I got these boots in the mail today, and I have not taken them off since I opened the box! They fit perfectly in the calves, with just enough space that I don't feel like my legs are being strangled. I'm about 5'8", and they hit about three inches below my knee. The toe box seems slightly narrow, but it is not at all painful or uncomfortable. It just means I will need to wear thinner socks with them! I do agree with the previous reviewers, who have mentioned that the leather looks much more distressed in person than in the picture on the website. I think it looks good though, and it's not so distressed that I can't wear them to work (disclaimer: I work in a relatively casual office) or out to dinner somewhere. I suspect I will eventually need to add some of those cushioning inserts if I'm going to wear them for long periods of walking, but they don't seem to be pinching or rubbing my feet in any way so far. All in all, these are excellent boots, and are definitely worth the money!"
Review 4 for Coconuts Bernie Riding Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Slightly Short
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Perfect
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
More Comfy
Very Comfy
By: PseudonymPublius
Location: Virginia
 September 17, 2013

Different than website pictures, but nice boots

"Like other reviewers of Coconuts riding boots have said, the picture does not accuately convey just how "distressed" the leather looks. Many customers must comment or complain about this, because the company includes a card in the shoe box saying that the tonal and textural differences are inteded so the boots will age to perfection. I figured other reviewers were just being picky in noting the finish in their reviews, but I must say after receiving the boots, they definitely look distressed and the pictures on the website really do not convey that, so you may not expect what you get if you are merely ordering online. The boots are nice, but it took me a while to adjust to the difference in what I was expecting versus what was shipped to me. After wearing the boots out and about, they were surprisingly comfortable and I received a few compliments. They are nice casual boots, and I have grown to like them a lot.
Before ordering the shoes, I was worried about comments I read saying Coconuts boots seemed to be snug in the calf. I am a somewhat athletically built 5'5" 135 lb woman who normally wears size 9.5. When the website said the calf size of the boot was 14 inches, I wondered if I needed wide calf sizes because my calves are about 14 inches around. I decided to just order the regular size, but go up to a 10, accounting for the shoes running small. I am happy with that sizing decision, as they fit my calves fine. In measuring the boots at the widest point, the size 10 regular seems to have a 15 inch calf circumference, so I am guessing the 14 inch circumference they list on the website is a measurement of the calf on a smaller boot. The larger sizes of the regular boot must have proportionately larger calves. I just wanted to point this out in case anyone else was debating between the wide calf and regular calf sizes."
Review 5 for Coconuts Bernie Riding Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Perfect
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
More Comfy
Very Comfy
By: cafedenuit
Location: Illinois
 May 31, 2013
"I have been looking for good riding boots for about a year and finally ordered these. I am so happy with them! They look great - I like the worn-leather look. They fit very comfortably, especially around my calves. I have always had a problem finding boots that aren't huge around the calves - mine are pretty skinny. They are comfortable to walk in. In all, I am very pleased with this purchase!"
Review 6 for Coconuts Bernie Riding Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Slightly Short
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Average
Very Comfy
By: young20something
Location: Arlington, VA
 April 22, 2013

Better than I expected...

"I was hesitant to spend this much for boots I'd never tried on, but I got them in a 9.5, which is what I'd normally wear for boat shoes, or sneakers, and anything without a heel. They fit incredibly well. I feel as though I have a centimeter or two between my calf and the top of the boot, which I find a comfortable amount, but I do have relatively thin calves. Likewise, I find the boots particularly comfortable because of how they fit in the heel. I have narrow feet and tend to slide, but the heels of these boots fit me really well. For people with wider feet, though, this may be a concern.
Otherwise I think they boots look and feel like good quality and are only mildly distressed leather, which makes them look more legitimate, but still clean and new. I'm very, very happy with these boots and have already gotten several compliments on them."
Review 7 for Coconuts Bernie Riding Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Slightly Short
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Less Comfy
Very Comfy
By: BohoChica
Location: Cockeysville, MD
 April 18, 2013

Not worth it and Tight

"I got these in black because they were on sale and had a short heel, which I hoped would be comfortable for walking in the city. However, I returned them because they were too snug around my calf-If you have a calf muscle at all, these are probably not for you. I have normal athletic calves, not wide or anything, but these boots were just a bad fit. They were also narrow and the inside of my ankle hurt because there was too much pressure from the boot. If you have very skinny legs, these may work for you, but if not, I recommend finding something else-plus, you can find nicer leather boots for a lower price!"
Review 8 for Coconuts Bernie Riding Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Not Comfy
More Comfy
Very Comfy
By: diva3
Location: California
 April 10, 2013

Great Cognac Colored Boot!

"These are great boots! Very comfy. I ordered them in Cognac. Love the color, however it has a worn look. Some pairs appear to have a cracked appearance in the leather. Yeah, don't like those. I had 2 to compare to one pair looked cracked and the other didn't. So it's kinda a gamble if they are going to have the cracked leather appearance. As far as comfort and fit, love! Fits well on slender calf too. And nice and tall fit! I returned them and kept the Coconuts Blakely Cognac. Those are by far my favorite!"
Review 9 for Coconuts Bernie Riding Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
By: erika28
Location: Chicago, IL
 January 31, 2013

i love these boots

"great boots. nice color. comfortable. fits my ankle and calf just right. i thought the shaft height is flattering as well."
Review 10 for Coconuts Bernie Riding Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Runs Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Runs Wide
By: Sjbh
Location: Rochester, Mn
 January 27, 2013

Great Boots

"These boots are awesome! I love the worn look of the leather. They fit my skinny calves great with pants tucked in. I don't have much of a gap between the boot and my leg. They do run a bit narrow in the toe bed, however I did buy a 1/2 size smaller than I usually wear because they were out of my size. Have worn them a few times and they have stretched nicely. Very comfy! Highly recommend!"
Review 11 for Coconuts Bernie Riding Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Slightly Short
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
More Comfy
Very Comfy
By: Suz2
Location: Tulsa
 January 20, 2013
"Leather got more dry and cracked with each time worn. Looks old now."
Review 12 for Coconuts Bernie Riding Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Not Comfy
More Comfy
Very Comfy
By: shoechicagodsw
Location: Chicago
 January 10, 2013

Love it!

"These boots are the only ones that have not looked ABSURD on my calf. im very thin and my calves are even thinner and usually boots look ridiculous on me because they're just too much leg room but these fit! Of course, they didn't hug my leg but there was only about a finger and a half-ish left of space at the calf where usually there is at least 4 fingers worth. I love the leather on these too, it has a really nice feel and isn't too bland but also is barely distressed (I don't appreciate it when boots look like the leather has been beaten up). The little buckle details on the bottom are really cute.
Btw, I got the cognac color.
"
Review 13 for Coconuts Bernie Riding Boot
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Runs Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Very Comfy
Very Comfy
By: Mel04
Location: Minneapolis, MN
 December 30, 2012

Awesome Boots!

"I just purchased these boots in-store yesterday. I tried on just about every other pair and went with these because they were the most comfortable. I usually wear an 8, but bought these in a 7.5. They also fit my calves perfectly, and usually I find that most boots are far too big in the calf. I'm 5'6" and these rise up to maybe 2 inches below the knee. If you're looking for a pair of comfortable brown boots that don't look cheap, these are a must!"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Coconuts Bernie Riding Boot
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1
Runs Narrow
3 out of 5
Runs Wide