Customer Reviews for Mercanti Fiorentini Mercanti Fiorentini Wingtip Oxford

Mercanti Fiorentini Mercanti Fiorentini Wingtip Oxford

Mercanti Fiorentini Wingtip Oxford
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
8 of 8100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mercanti Fiorentini Wingtip Oxford
Review 1 for Mercanti Fiorentini Wingtip Oxford
Overall Product Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Runs Long
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Slightly Wide
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Average
Very Comfy
By: Apsmith227
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA
 April 8, 2014

Runs LARGE!!

"I generally wear a size 12 in most dress shoes. I have worn a few pairs of 11.5 in the past, but for the most part the 11.5 have been somewhat snug. Other reviewers had stated that this shoes runs large, so I ordered a half size down from my normal 12 and got an 11.5.
When I received the 11.5, I tried them on and they were a little big and my heel slipped a little, but I had felt that once the sole broke in, it should be fine. Well now after a few weeks of wearing them, the leather has stretched out and the shoes are huge on my feet. So much so that even with a tongue pad in place my foot slips all over the place. I cannot really wear them if I need to walk anywhere as I will get blisters from walking due to my heel slipping. As such, if you are looking at these I would recommend that if you are between sizes to order a half size down from the smaller size, or a full size down from your normal size of shoes. A size 11 probably would have fit fine for me.
As for looks, the shoes are great, I love how they look. they come with both a blue and brown pair of laces. Despite the size issue, I would recommend these to someone else, so long as you can go in the store and try them on, or you are very careful when trying them on after you receive them. If it was not for the size issue, I would have probably rated these a 5 star shoe, but the sizing extremely off.
As for me, well I guess I am stuck with a pair of shoes that looks nice, but it way too big for me and I cannot really wear."
Review 2 for Mercanti Fiorentini Wingtip Oxford
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Perfect
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Perfect
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Very Comfy
Very Comfy
By: TaglessAndTaut
Location: Miami
 February 22, 2014

Beautiful

"What can I say that hasn't already been said...I completely echo the praise all the other reviewers have heaped on these fantastic shoes. The shape, the color, the fit, the feel, the smell...all of it makes me giddy with relief now that I've finally found an acceptable and (somewhat) affordable pair of dress-casual shoes. The search is over. One note-- I'm a size 12 in most shoes, with an occasional 11.5, but I just went with the 12's on these. At first the shoes felt a smidge tight but after a brief break-in period they fit absolutely perfect, like a second skin. Only time will tell in terms of durability, though. But so far I'm obviously very happy."
Review 3 for Mercanti Fiorentini Wingtip Oxford
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Perfect
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Slightly Wide
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Very Comfy
Very Comfy
By: Homey
Location: Garnet Valley, PA
 February 14, 2014
"These Italian made wingtips look and are well made. I receive compliments every time I wear them, especially from women who notice how sharp they are. The tan color is great and makes them very versatile as they can be worn with a suit or with jeans or khakis. They are slightly wide, but extremely comfortable. An unbelievable value."
Review 4 for Mercanti Fiorentini Wingtip Oxford
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Slightly Long
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Perfect
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Very Comfy
Very Comfy
By: FLMan
Location: FLorida
 February 3, 2014

Great Shoes

"These shoes are great! Comfortable, good looking, expert craftsmanship, and priced fairly. They run slightly long, so I had to return for 1/2 size smaller. I can't wait to get my exchanged pair. Probably the best dress shoes I've ever owned."
Review 5 for Mercanti Fiorentini Wingtip Oxford
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Perfect
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Perfect
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
More Comfy
Very Comfy
By: Chiohkeh
Location: Durham NC
 November 29, 2013

Nice wings!

"Searching for a nice pair of men's dress shoes is a bit of an exercise. Walking into a DSW store or just logging into their website brings you to many options and brands. However, when I walked into my local DSW and saw this pair of shoes it was a no brainer. They just looked great. I tried them on in the store and they were a lot more comfortable than I would have imagined a pair of dress shoes to be. I ended up ordering these online shortly after and ever since, I have gotten so many compliments when wearing them. I couldn't be any more happy with a pair of shoes."
Review 6 for Mercanti Fiorentini Wingtip Oxford
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Runs Long
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Perfect
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
More Comfy
Very Comfy
By: Kaffetzis
Location: NY, NY
 November 26, 2013

Great shoe, comfy, good quality.

"One of DSW's better brands."
Review 7 for Mercanti Fiorentini Wingtip Oxford
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Slightly Long
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Perfect
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Very Comfy
Very Comfy
By: Dabkr
Location: NYC
 October 14, 2013

Nice

"This is for all those shoe snobs out there-those guys that think that anything less then a pair of AE starting at $275+ will disintegrate in their hands after the first week and that the 'corrected' leather uppers used will look like a cheap plastic bag in less then a week:
These shoes are fantastic. I have over 20 pair of wingtip, brogues, oxford, bluchers,etc, etc. I own everything from AE ,Gucci, Bruno Magli to Church's and these Mercanti Fiorentini oxfords are every bit as nice as ANY pair of mid to high end English, US or Italian shoe makers. Yes-its true that Mercanti is DSWs contracted maker but so what? Its the shoe that counts and I can't find one single flaw in this shoes construction from sole to laces. Beautiful design with a perfectly proportioned last for a typical American D width foot. Slightly elongated (or pointy) gives these a more european 'air' about them but I still find plenty of room in the toe box for my generally wide foot in my normal size 11. No need for me to size up or down as these seem to fit perfectly true-to-size for me.
Of course they are too new for me to judge the durability of the leather sole but I can tell people that they are extremely comfortable and after only a few days wear feel like they are broken in like an old pair of slippers. They are not goodyear welted (which the snobs can scoff at) but they are Blake stitched which means they are totally re-craftable after you wear the initial sole out. The walnut coloured uppers are definitely an eye-catching feature. the calf-skin is supple, soft but still rather thick and substantial. There is a slight burnishing of the toe cap and heel catch which gives the shoe a very rich luxe look and feel. Design is on par with the most beautiful wingtips I have owned. Not that they are particularly unique-just that the designer got all the details just right in my opinion and on this style the lighter contrast stitching lends these shoes even more versatility then had the stitching been matched. So, e.g., I am wearing them right now with a pair of tan jeans while yesterday I wore them with my navy suit.
I should mention the lambskin leather insole has padding and a support arch witch adds an extra layer of comfort so its been hard for me to give these guys a break after just 4 days of ownership. But soon I will clean them and start to alternate between my other pairs but I would certainly rank these right up there with the quality I have seen with SOME of my Gucci , Santoni and AE wingtips. I can just imagine the coniption fits the shoe snobs on the styleforum would have if they read this. They would probably consider me either insane or pathetically uneducated but my opinion stands: these Mercanti Fiorentini wingtips are basically as fine as almost ANY $300-$500msrp Italian designer shoe
"
Review 8 for Mercanti Fiorentini Wingtip Oxford
Overall Product Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Runs Short
Slightly Long
Runs Long
Runs Narrow
Perfect
Runs Wide
Not Comfy
Average
Very Comfy
By: cpmiller
Location: Indianapolis
 September 8, 2013

Mercanti Fiorentini Men's Shoes

"This is the third pair of shoes I've purchased from this manufacturer. I like their styles, and their quality. The leather is nice, and design elements such as this pair's blue shoe laces, make them a little bit different from the mundane. The only thing I'd make sure people know is, this manufacturer's shoes run a little bit long. Typically, I buy 1/2 size shorter than I normally wear."